The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > General Truck Forums > Engine & Drivetrain

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 11-16-2012, 09:56 PM   #1
Phillip123

need help with engine

I have just acquired my grandfathers 63 C10 p/u. it is a stepside short bed in very rough shape. The cab is in pretty bad shape on roof and other usual places. I will get back to the body work later. I have pulled the engine out (283 ci) and pretty much disassembled. I am no mechanic by any means but have some basic knowledge of how a engine works. The truck has been setting in the bushes for about 15 or more years. It appears to have had a blown head gasket. My son is in his first year at a community college takeing auto mechanics and has torn down the heads, most of the valves have been burnt. With all that being said here is my question, I would like to step the engine up a little but not sure what size cam to put in it without having to change lifters, studs, springs, etc. Im thinking of boring it 4 over. Not looking to make a hot rod , just want a little punch to it. Staying with stock 3 speed and rear end I think. Any advice and guidance would be appreciated.

Thanks
Phillip123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 10:30 PM   #2
Auctioneerhere

Re: need help with engine

Go for a cam that fits your RPM range. Perhaps a HO 305 cam grind.

I would avoid going to big.
Auctioneerhere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 10:33 PM   #3
Auctioneerhere

http://www.jalopyjournal.com/forum/a.../t-345981.html

Thread might interest you.
Auctioneerhere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 01:16 AM   #4
Alan's Classic
1 thing at a time is progress.

Moved ya to the engine and drivetrain section for more input.
Alan's Classic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 01:33 AM   #5
Captainfab
60-66 Nut