The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1947 - 1959 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 07-06-2015, 09:52 PM   #1
Dan in Pasadena

I Know SQUAT About Spraying Automotive Paint.

....but, I have a 60 gallon upright compressor, 2-for-$99 HVLPs spray guns - which I assume are little better than a Harbor Freight gun. And I have a cartridge type breathing mask.

So the question is: Should I try spraying epoxy primer (recommended product?) on my entire truck myself? It's in pieces and I am having it blasted by a local blaster recommended by a member here that is also on the tri five car website.

I have very little knowledge, so I'm dangerous! I know to use all products from the same manufacturer, to filter the paint and to use a water separator and another at the gun. Do I want to do this or will I make a mess and waste money and time?

Should I take the blasted pieces to a local painter and have him spray it?

Dan's '55 Big Window "Build" - Well, Kinda!
Dan in Pasadena is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2015, 10:04 PM   #2
fredos59

Re: I Know SQUAT About Spraying Automotive Paint.

Do it.
fredos59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2015, 10:10 PM   #3
Dan in Pasadena

Ha ha, Fredo! I love the encouragement. Of course the thing is I'll have to spray it fast after it comes back from the blaster before any flash rust can start. Blaster said the final roughness will be equivaltent to sanding with 220. I ASSUME(?) I wouldn't need to roughen it up further? I've read on the HAMB to leave an 80 grit finish on bare metal before priming.

What's the consensus of the brain trust here?

Last edited by Dan in Pasadena; 07-06-2015 at 10:22 PM.
Old 07-06-2015, 10:17 PM   #4
Ozzy2013