The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > General Truck Forums > Engine & Drivetrain > LSx Swaps

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 10-26-2021, 09:11 AM   #1
67see10

LS Turbo'd Guys... Suggestions needed!!!

I currently have a 6.0 LQ4 at the machine shop that I have no money into it. I got the motor running with low oil pressure because the cam bearing walked.

I was going to do a simple rebuild and although I have no experience with turbos, I can't shake the idea of building a twin-turbo build. I guess I just want to do something different.

I plan on building the motor first and then decide which truck I want to put it in. I currently have an 86 GMC C3500 RCLB and a 86 RCSB C10 with no motor or transmission, and a factory 86 2WD Jimmy that runs with a 305/700r4.

I jumped headfirst into the turbo idea and purchased the ARP Main Studs, Connector Rod Bolts.

My first question is, is it even particular to have a twin-turbo'd truck as a daily driver? If so, what would you recommend?
Old 10-26-2021, 05:21 PM   #2
Ziegelsteinfaust

Re: LS Turbo'd Guys... Suggestions needed!!!

Turbos are street friendly till you hit the gas. Beyond I only understand things of them.

I DD a 350 with a old school near Duntov 30 30 can for 2 years in a C10.

Follow the basics like opening the ring gaps, and timing. Watch the rpm as it typically is worse for the engine then hp.
Ziegelsteinfaust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2021, 06:54 PM   #3
bnorth