The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > General Truck Forums > Engine & Drivetrain

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 09-06-2021, 04:07 PM   #1
Mbeef61

Anyone running the new Tremec TKX 5 speed?

Curious if anyone is running the TKX 5 speed. Considering it over the Magnum 6 speed.

Just curious how the install went, how the ratios are, aftermarket parts etc.

I just don't know if I REALLY need a 6th gear.

PROS for TKX: cheaper up front, less tunnel work, lighter weight.
PROS for t56 Mag: Stronger, more aftermarket support
Mbeef61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2021, 05:29 PM   #2
AcampoDave

Re: Anyone running the new Tremec TKX 5 speed?

Their website says available with 3 different ratios but only gives 2 of them. I am no tranny expert, but I wonder what kind of drivetrain set-up you have, in what kind of truck and how would you be driving that truck? I did a lot of reading up on ratios when I swapped my 3 ring Saginaw for a Muncie M22Z and went from a 2.76 rear with a 3.50 first to a 3.08 rear and a 2.98 first. I don't remember the figures for the other gears now but the Saginaw had a wierd spread 1st and 2nd were close and 3rd and 4th were wide. The Muncie is nice with a rythmic winding of the motor between shifts. I feel that to be super important in a street rod tranny. I'm not into racing or burnouts and stuff so I wanted a good all around driving set-up. I get that people like a torquey first gear, but shifting into second before I've even cleared the midlle of an intersection just isn't me. (Which is exactly what happened when I combined the 3.50 first of the Saginaw with the 3.08 rear)

Last edited by AcampoDave; 09-06-2021 at 05:51 PM.
AcampoDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2021, 05:48 PM   #3
Mbeef61