The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 05-03-2006, 09:17 PM   #1
RShaips

Valve guide seals ?

I need to change my valve guide seals on my truck. I have the body off the frame so now is the time to do it. I have never done this before , should I replace the O rings and also add the umbrellas seals ? I have read that you can put air into the cylinder or use a soft rope stuffed in there to keep the valves from falling, any preference? I guess all I need to change them is to buy the tool for $10.00 that will compress the spring and remove the retainer and spring and slide the old O ring off and put the new ones on. Thanks for the help.
RShaips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2006, 10:26 PM   #2
Southpa

Re: Valve guide seals ?

I've done it a couple times, each time I forget how, lol. You need the valve spring compressor tool and a fitting for your air hose that screws into spark plug hole. A good magnet helps too for removing those keepers, wouldn't want to lose them. I've never tried the string method and don't think I will. There would still be a chance for pushrod to slide down through the string.

You can wish in one hand and crap in the other.
See which one gets filled first.

Last edited by Southpa; 05-03-2006 at 10:28 PM.
Southpa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2006, 09:07 AM   #3
RShaips

Did you use the umbrella seals on top of the O rings or just replace the O rings?
Old 05-04-2006, 09:53 AM   #4
Myself