The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > General Truck Forums > Tools, Shops and Shop Safety

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 08-19-2009, 11:32 PM   #1
AJLChase

Chicago and Harbor Frieght

So, I've recently made my first trip to Harbor Freight and to be honest with you, found some really good deals. Some things I know I will only use once or twice or very sparingly and so it's nice to not drop an arm and a leg on but some other things like their power tools and floor jacks make me wonder, is the quality there or there enough? I am by no means a professional but am very much into cars/trucks and would like to spend a decent amount of time on them. What would you or wouldn't you buy at harbor freight?
AJLChase is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2009, 11:33 PM   #2
leddzepp

Re: Chicago and Harbor Frieght

Don't buy anything that will endanger your life when it breaks.

1968 C/10 50th Anniversary LWB. Unrestored, stock, daily driver/work truck.

RIP ElJay
RIP 67ChevyRedneck
RIP Grumpy Old Man

Last edited by leddzepp; 08-19-2009 at 11:36 PM.
leddzepp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2009, 11:41 PM   #3
71blksuper4x4
SWB 4x4 Collector

Don't buy: Grinders or most of the power tools unless they are a speciality item
------Buy quality power tools at places like Pawn Shops, Swap Meets, etc. of brand names before buying most power tools at HF.

If you need to Buy at HF: Auto Darkening Welding Helmet (Welding)
Body Hammers and Dollies (dent repair)
Stud Welder (Dent Repair)
Window Crank puller kit (good for junk-yarding for parts)
engine stand
hydraulic lift hoist (good for pulling engines or lifting)
1971 Cheyenne Super 4x4 swb (tilt,tach,buckets, original blue shoulder belts,am/fm,cruise,tow hooks, dealer 8 track)
1972 Cheyenne Super K20 4x4 Custom Camper (tilt, tach, am/fm, tow hooks, bed toolbox, aux gas tank