The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1973 - 1987 Chevrolet & GMC Squarebody Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 11-23-2009, 04:32 PM   #1
jaycrew1

Windshield Wiper problems

Hey guys, its been a while but I finally have time to cruise the forums again.

I have been having a issue with my wipers. BTW I have read most all of the forums about wiper problems, without much luck fixing mine. So any help you can give would be appreciated.

Here is the deal...
I have a 1987 chevy C-20 crew cab truck that I have been working on for about three years. I have started driving it lately. It is a blast. However, I have been experiencing problems with my wipers.
The wiring harness for my truck is out of a 1990 chevy suburban. The suburban was loaded up at the factory. PW, PDL, Tilt, Cruise, etc....
I used the wiring harness, PW, PDL, steering column, fuse block, wiper motor and cruise control components from the suburban on my 87 truck body. So far everything works great except the cruise and wipers. I will get to the cruise later.

The wipers will only work when the switch is turn to "HIGH" the fastest setting. They will not work on "LOW" or delay. Also, the wipers stop where they are when I turn the switch to off.

Attempted fixes...

As I read in other posts on this site, I tried changing the motor. Didn't work.
I tested my current motor start from the battery, it has high and low speed.
I have a couple of motors here that look just like the original, I tried them too.
No Luck!

I changed the intermittent control module under the steering column (Looks like a small stereo amp) Didn't work.
I also removed the int. control module and plug the harness' straight, still didn't fix the problem.