The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1947 - 1959 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 01-11-2011, 02:19 PM   #1
plummen

3/4 disc brake swap

Fresh meat here with a fresh project.
Ive got a 56 chevy 3/4t pickup i would like to build a dually out of,newer rear axle is a no brainer but im having trouble finding any info about a disc brake swap for 8 lug rotors onto a stock straight axle.
I suppose i can figure out a bearing swap for the rotors,but need ideas for caliper brackets.
I leave myself in the hands of the experts here!
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2011, 02:31 PM   #2
lmdangerous

Re: 3/4 disc brake swap

I am not an expert but I am working on my 3800 1Ton JS code pickup truck. The backing plate bolt spacing is the same as the 1/2 ton , so the disc brake kit that speedway , classic etc ( basic kit- brakets,and hrdware- does mot have the hubs etc) sales should bolt on ( around 99$) . I measured the bolt spacing pretty close - even if its off a little -it will be a very close pattern.I plan on grinding the rivits off the brake drum - knock the drum off and that leaves the hub. Late model 3/4 ton 4wd brake rotors slide over the studs. THe basic kit also has the spacers for the backing plates- adjust as needed. Get the mastercylinder adapter bracket(99$) -that bolts to the stock set up - use the MC that is for disc brakes run the lines and you should have them .I have not done mine yet - doing all the work and measurements before I tear it apart. Also have a friend with a spare 8 lug axle ( may use it for a guinepig). I know your truck is a little newer than mine but the basic disc conversion kit that all the companies produce are for a 47-59 chevy -GMC. I would only get the basic kit for the caliper brackets. the rest will be