The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > General Truck Forums > Engine & Drivetrain > LSx Swaps

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 12-31-2011, 04:36 AM   #1
kp110477

LS Swap Book Reviews / Advice

I'm new to wrenching... REALLY new, and am intimidated by the depth of knowledge and skill these swaps require. Therefore I was looking for a book or DVD or other media that really holds your hand through the whole process. I ran across this book book on amazon and was wondering if you greasers knew anything about it, or had any recommendations on other sources of info.

I'm on the fence about whether to rebuild the 350 TBI in my 89 V1500 Chevy Suburban or to try my hand at the LS Swap with an LQ4/4L80E. I'm so green that either of these is going to prove challenging, and was wondering what your thoughts were. Thank you for your time.
kp110477 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2011, 11:55 AM   #2
feller

Re: LS Swap Book Reviews / Advice

you got a bad link i think. but my wounerful wife got me the sa design book how to swap an ls into almost anything. its ok but it is prety much the same info i have found on the net and it seems to be centered atound street and performance they have a website and some good info there and you can always google search the topic and find just as much info. just my .02
feller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2011, 11:58 AM   #3
pat565

If you are willing to learn, go with the LS swap. Either way you will find obsticales, but the newer engine stuff is leading the way of the future. You might as well get with the more cuirrent technoligy now
pat565 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2011, 12:39 PM   #4
mooseknuckles

I agree......the old school smallblock is a 100 years old, time to let go...R.I.P.
mooseknuckles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2011, 12:48 PM   #5
BR3W CITY