The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board > 67-72 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Projects and Builds

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 06-28-2012, 10:32 PM   #1
Steinerj56

New to site, new project... 72 C10 I picked up and drove home 3hrs.

Here it is. Honestly couldn't be happier having this truck. It needs some work but thats why I bought it. Went to back to the 50's that was put on by the MSRA swap meet and found a vendor near me. Bought both cab corners and rocker panels that will need to be welded in.

1st question I do have as I am new to the whole "carburetor" vintage...
Any ideas why the previous owner would wire tie the 4 barrel shut and keeping it from opening up? I removed the wire and found there is some linkage missing that I will need to replace. The carb has a couple of small leaks that I can see.
Any suggestions on having it rebuilt or should I just buy a new one with an electric choke? Or since it will be garaged in the winter to I run with no choke at all? I have been told the quadrajet is a good carb if built right and adjusted properly. Is it?