The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevy/GMC Suburbans & Panels Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 03-30-2015, 10:04 AM   #1
4shongo

New aluminum rad and a/c compressor installed this weekend!

I have been putting it off for a few months due to weather. I installed a new 3 core aluminum rad with twin 14" electric fans with aluminum shroud, and new chrome T-stat housing with new 180 degree T-stat. All I can say is wow...big difference from the stock 4 core with one 16" fan and shroud. The 16" fan use to stay on all the time and barely kept up when temps were above 90 (had to turn off A/C a few times due to high temps). This twin set up runs for about 30 seconds and drops the temps very quickly and shuts off. I like it!!! Also, new A/C compressor and filter/dryer installed. I know the temps were only in the high 60's yesterday here but the duct temps were real cold and I had the Burb idling for almost an hour checking for leaks and that everything seemed to work right. I'm finally ready for cruise season to start. I guess my new factory rad I bought 2 years ago will go to the scrap pile...should have done the aluminum rad in the first place. Lessons learned.
4shongo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2015, 10:40 AM   #2
72MARIO

Re: New aluminum rad and a/c compressor installed this weekend!

What brand of rad and fan setup did you get ?
1990 V2500 Suburban "Plow Truck"
2005 TAHOE DD
72MARIO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2015, 10:56 AM   #3
4shongo