The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 04-09-2015, 07:26 PM   #1
Mr.Hyde

Need some help on a few things

Hey guys I'm having a hard time figuring things out or just generally finding information I'm no mechanic am just a diy guy and will really appreciate the assistance. My questions are concerning a 1968 c10 with a 283 and 3 on the tree lwb no ac.

1. Vacuum I don't really understand the concept or what needs what for hooking these components up. I think all I really have is carb distributor and brake booster.

2. What is the width of the bed floor if I'm going to be using plywood? Is it 72" I would just like confirmation of that.

3.what have you guys done for washer reservoirs?

Member of tailgate association of manitoba
Mr.Hyde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2015, 06:59 AM   #2
special-K
Special Order

Re: Need some help on a few things

1: Your engine breaths. It inhales (vacuum) and exhales (PCV/crankcase venting). The vacuum is what makes air go through your carberator. There is vacuum within the carb, it is it's own source of vacuum...like a nose. Your truck borrows vacuum for your power brake booster to assist pedal effort. That uses a bigger hose tapped into the intake just below the carb in the back. Your timing advance also uses the vacuum. As engine revs, vacuum increases, which advances the timing in proportion to engine speed. This uses a smaller hose that taps into intake manifold under carb in front.