The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > General Truck Forums > Suspension

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 01-25-2016, 04:19 PM   #1
Coach529

ride height limit switches

Just a little back ground info......I am an electrician who works with a lot of limit switches and automation stuff everyday!!

Has anybody ever used some simple limit switches on there air ride set up to set exact ride height, or is going off pressure good enough?

I was thinking a limit switch at each wheel. They are fairly cheap ($28.00 each) and small.

You could use the limit switch to fire a LED. LED lights up, you are at desired ride height.

"Adventures of Henry"

http://smu.gs/QOlhWY
Coach529 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2016, 09:02 PM   #2
Coach529

Re: ride height limit switches

Anybody??

"Adventures of Henry"

Old 01-27-2016, 03:36 AM   #3
andrewmp6

Most people on here use accuair or just go by psi,Your kinda on your own if you want to make your own system like that.
andrewmp6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2016, 11:43 AM   #4
JNJchev77
Registered Cruiser

I think it's a cool idea. I don't know much about those switches but you seem to have a handle on them. Why not give it a shot at that cost?
JNJchev77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2016, 01:44 PM   #5
Coach529

I am new to air ride.......so maybe this is a silly question.

How consistent is your ride height when going off air pressure?

"Adventures of Henry"

Old 01-27-2016, 02:48 PM   #6
JNJchev77
Registered Cruiser

Quote:
Originally Posted by Coach529 View Post

It's pretty close, until your load changes. But if you drive your vehicle with bags long enough, you know when it's level and when it's not right.

I'm using Accuair E-level, because like most, I can't stand a lowered vehicle that leans or sags and I don't have to worry about watching pressures.