The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1967 - 1972 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 05-04-2016, 01:56 PM   #1
Old_iron

First Post - a lot of 4x4 and 3/4 ton questions

Hello everyone.
I have been looking for a while for a good project 3/4 ton 4x4 and finally closed the deal on one yesterday, a 1968 GMC. It was quite a drive to get it but I was able to get it for a good price. The body is a little rougher than I wanted but I'll get some good body work practice out of it!

I am not a stranger to restorations as I completely redid my 1971 Chevelle back in high school with my father, but I am new to 4x4 components so I'll probably have a lot of questions for you all in that area. This looks like a nice forum, I'm glad to be here.

-old_iron
Attached Images

Last edited by Old_iron; 05-04-2016 at 02:20 PM.
Old_iron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2016, 02:00 PM   #2
summitflier

Re: First Post - 1968 GMC 4x4 3/4 Ton

Good luck. I know what you mean about "the body being rougher than I wanted".
It is a lot of work, but many people have done it, and like us.. "are" doing it.
05 Ram 1500 5.7L

My build thread - http://67-72chevytrucks.com/vboard/s...d.php?t=676545
summitflier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2016, 02:14 PM   #3
Old_iron

The goal for this truck is to mainly:
1. Plow snow in winter via detachable plow (like a Meyer)
2. Handle really well /stable in the snow and ice
3. Haul heavy loads of firewood and such out of the woods, and on 55mph roads
4. Utilize either a fixed or trailer-hitch-mount winch up front

Rarely:
4. Tow heavy trailered loads (maybe up to 12,000 lbs) short distances

What it currently has:
Mid-70s open Dana 60 rear, not sure of ratio yet
Not sure of the front
Mid-70s Np205 transfer case