The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1947 - 1959 Chevrolet & GMC Pickups Message Board

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 04-15-2016, 03:28 PM   #1
bchamb3

3100 Tow Rig

Hello all,

I am completely new to the whole classic chevy truck scene, but my God! These are awesome looking trucks! I am looking to purchase a 47-55 advance design body style and was wondering if it could be used to tow? My idea is to purchase the truck and use it to haul a 22-26 foot airstream trailer around town for my business. (I know that highway pulls will probably be out of the question due to wheelbase of the truck) The problem is that I don't know much about towing requirements, especially for these trucks. Is this possible given the right setup, i.e motor, hitch, tranny, etc.? What if I want to put airbags on the truck?

Thank you all for your help and keep on restoring these beautiful trucks!
bchamb3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2016, 07:45 PM   #2
dsraven

Re: 3100 Tow Rig

if it were me I would probably think about upgrading the suspension and steering so it is easier to drive and back up with a trailer, unless you have huge forearms and love strongarm steering. a brake upgrade would possibly be an idea as well. everybody has their own thoughts and opinions though. I am just thinking about the actual driving part and being able to turn and stop quickly like a newer vehicle so you don't end up in the back seat of some family's car with the kids and car seats.
just my opinion
dsraven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2016, 01:00 AM   #3
mr48chev

I towed a loaded 16 ft U haul behind my 48 for 2500 miles and I'll have to say the tail wagged the dog every inch of that 2500 miles. Just too much weight back there.