The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > General Truck Forums > Suspension

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 07-27-2006, 11:26 AM   #1
68stepside4life

1968 re-do underneath.need help

I have a 1968 Chevy Stepside 1/2ton. Almost everything is done on the body but i NEED new shocks and springs badly. I am new to everything trucks/cars so i need some advice.

I want shocks,springs,and whatever i need to make it ride like a "caddy" or close. But i want to lower it a good 4" or 5". So where should i order from and what type? should i get...if there are specific ones for old trucks or something...im clueless
Old 07-27-2006, 01:44 PM   #2
dwcsr
Hollister Road Co.

Re: 1968 re-do underneath.need help

You may want to go with an air ride kit. Because you don't have much experince I would go with the Air ride technologies kit. They have very good support and you won't have to piece together a kit. I would also ask them about the drop for the rear. Some 2.5" drop spindle for the front.

Early classics also has some good kits. They also have a section which shows what the kit looks like on your truck when installed. http://www.earlyclassic.com/Tech.asp...=Stance+Photos

Some may reccomend ***************** for the parts but you would have to piece together and weldup a lot of parts to get it to work. I don't find them that much cheaper after shipping is added in.

what you want is not cheap.
dwcsr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2006, 04:25 PM   #3
68stepside4life

Thanks man, that helped me get in the right direction. I think the 4/6 drop looks the best and i would love to get that. But wow..like you said it will cost some moula!$$$$

However. what are the advantages of an AIR RIDE KIT to regular suspension?

they seem to be about the same price. Also, any certain brands i should either leans towards or stay away from?