The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network

Register or Log In To remove these advertisements.

Go Back   The 1947 - Present Chevrolet & GMC Truck Message Board Network > 47 - Current classic GM Trucks > The 1973 - 1987 Chevrolet & GMC Squarebody Pickups Message Board > Squarebody Projects and Builds

Web 67-72chevytrucks.com

Old 03-10-2014, 12:18 PM   #1
rball716

81 SWB Project "Eleanor"

Here's the start of a slow build thread. Little background. I'm currently a college student studying Engineering, also working 25 hours a week and have projects I'm working on for school. So this will be a lengthy process.

The name Eleanor comes from "Gone in 60 Seconds" because this has always been the truck I've wanted to get and after 4 attempts at other trucks I finally got her. It didn't come without a fight though. After agreeing to a deal on the truck I had to wait a week before I could go pick her up. The day before I got a call that he couldn't sell it because his truck broke down. Fast forward a week and he finally got back to me that he worked things out and could sell it. I was there the next day and drove her 125 miles home.

I've grown up around truck my whole life and this project will be mainly my own but with help from my dad who owned numerous squarebodies in his life.

THE PLAN: